SILF - Initiatives

United States and India Business Council (USIBC) and SILF have formed and constituted a Working Group to look into various issues concerning development of better coordination between the legal professions of India and the US, between the governments of the two countries as also between the business and industry institutions of the two countries.

USIBC-SILF Working Group on Liberalization of Legal Services

 

SILF Representatives

USIBC Representatives

Jyoti Sagar (Co-Chair SILF)

J. Sagar Associates, Advocates & Solicitors

Sandstone Crest, Opp. Park Plaza Hotel

Sushant Lok - Phase 1

Gurgaon 122 009               

+ 91 11 124 4390 633

jyoti@jsalaw.com

Ralph Voltmer (Co-Chair from USIBC)

Covington & Burling

One City Center

850 Tenth Street NW

Washington DC 20001

+ 1 202 662 5479

rvoltmer@cov.com

Manoj Kumar

Hammurabi and Solomon, Advocates & Corporate Law Advisors

A - 220, Defence Colony

New Delhi 110 024

Tel       4155 0666 / 5055 / 1824 / 1825 / 0586

manoj.kumar@hammurabisolomon.com

Nandan Nelivigi

White & Case

1155 Avenue of the Americas

New York, NY 10036

+ 1 212 819 8958

nnelivigi@whitecase.com

V Lakshmikumaran

Lakshmikumaran & Sridharan                  

5 Jangpura Extension, Link Road

New Delhi  110 014

Phone:  + 91 11 412 99 800 / 812

vlakshmi@lakshmisri.com

 

Ashok Lalwani

Baker McKenzie

8 Marina Boulevard 
#05-01 Marina Bay Financial Centre Tower 1 
Singapore 018981 

+ 65 6434 2684

Ashok.Lalwani@bakermckenzie.com

Rohit Kochhar

Kochhar & Co.

Suite No. 1120 -1121, 11th Floor, Tower A

DLF Towers Jasola, Jasola District Center

New Delhi 110 025

+ 91 11 41115222

rohit@kochhar.com

Geoff Stewart

Jones Day

51 Louisiana Ave. NW

Washington D.C. 20001

+ 1 202 879 6445

gstewart@jonesdayy.com

Rajiv Luthra

Luthra & Luthra Law Offices

103 and 9th Floor, Ashoka Estate

24 Barakhamba Road

New Delhi  110 001

+ 91 11 2335 0633, 4121 5100

rajiv@luthra.com

Prakash Mehta

Akin Gump

One Bryant Park

Bank of America Tower

New York, NY 10036

+ 1 212 872 7430

pmehta@akingump.com

CR Dua

Dua Associates 

202 - 206 Tolstoy House  

15 Tolstoy Marg

New Delhi 110 001 

Phone: 23322387, 23714408

ranji@duaassociates.comduadel@duaassociates.com

Erik Wulff

DLA Piper

500 8th St NW

Washington, DC 20004

+ 1 202 799 4271

Erik.wulff@dlapiper.com

 Manoj Singh

Singh & Associates, Advocates and Solicitors

N – 2 Malviya Nagar

New Delhi 110 017

+ 91 46665000, 26680927, 26687993,

Newdelhi@singhassociates.in,

manoj@singhassociates.com

Amy Hariani

Senior Director & Legal Counsel

USIBC

1615 H Street NW

Washington DC 20061

+ 1 202 463 5657

ahariani@usibc.com

Lalit Bhasin

President, SILF

Bhasin & Co.

10 Hailey Road

New Delhi + 91 11 2332 2601

lbhasin@gmail.com

Nivedita Mehra

Director, India

USIBC

12 Hailey Road

New Delhi

+ 91 99 58 354455

nmehra@usibc.com

 
 
 
France-India Legal Knowledge Partnership Ceremony held on May 27th 2014 in “La Maison du Barreau”, Paris
 
At the invitation of the Paris Bar Council, the Society of Indian Law Firms, National Law School, Delhi and the Chamber of Commerce and Industry France-India, a ceremony was held on May 27th 2014 in “La Maison du Barreau”, Paris. In this grand venue, built under French King Henri IV (1553-1610) and home of the Paris Bar Council, Memorandum of Understanding was signed in presence of more than 150 attendees from legal, business and academic communities. The MoU now constitutes the frame for future exchanges between law professionals of France and India.
 
The MoU signed that day organizes cross-exchanges of Indian and French legal postgraduates. Thanks to this new framework, young lawyers will be welcomed in top law firms in both India and France, where they will sharpen their acumen of law practice in those foreign countries. The signatories of this MoU were Ms. Manjula Chawla, Vice-President of the Society of Indian Law Firms, Laurent Martinet, Vice-President of the Paris Bar Council, and Mr. Dan Oiknine, Chairman of the Chamber of Commerce and Industry France-India. The Indian Ambassador to France His Excellency Mr. Arun K Singh delivered the Keynote Address.
 
The broader goal of these MoU is to tie closer professionals links between Indian and French business communities thanks to a better understanding of the respective law processes in these countries. 
 
I must put on record my deep appreciation of the efforts made by Mr. Sunil Tyagi, Managing Partner of our member firm Zeus Law Firm who organized several meetings for me to meet  with heads of the Paris Bar and Chamber of Commerce and Industry France which eventually led to the signing of the MOU in Paris.
 
My special thanks and gratitude for Ms Manjula Chawla, Managing Partner, Phoenix Legal, who represented SILF and at very short notice agreed to go to Paris. She gave an excellent address which was applauded by one and all.
 
Lalit Bhasin 
SILF President
Copyright Reserved 2011. Developed & Managed by Law et al. Media